………


Once I get back home I’m exhausted.  That is definitely enough interaction for one day.  I jump onto my couch.  Its nice to be distracted from thinking of him for a while.  I turn on the television and watch random crime shows.  Then the telephone rings.  In an unsually happy mood I walk over and its the girl from church.  

“Hi!  Uh I was wondering, if you wanted to come over from a bbq on Wednesday?”  She asks uncertainly. 

“Sure, its not like I’m doing anything on Wednesday” I say

*Wednesday*

When I get to her house its only her and what I’m assuming is her boyfriend’s car parked in the driveway.  She says her boyfriend is nice.  When I ring the doorbell she opens the door almost immediately with tears in her eyes.

“Please don’t hate me but I lied to you” she says.

I shift uncomfortably.

“I don’t really have a boyfriend, I was just trying to fit in a little until I could tell you” she infrorms me.

“What are you trying to get at?” I ask her.

“I have….  a girlfriend” she says looking at the ground.

I respond immediately “that’s okay!” I say truthfully. 

She breathes a sigh of relief and invites me in then tells me the whole story.

“I joined the church because I like the religion but I didn’t think about it being against gays or lesbians.  So when I invited people to the barbeque I planned to tell everyone.  I only told you about the boyfriend thing.  So when they found out they freaked out.  Apparently they’re totally against gays and lesbians.  I guess I just didn’t think about everything before I made the plans.  Its just that they seemed SO nice!  But now they hate me completely!” She finishes out of breath with tears in her eyes.

I feel horribly for her.  What a horrible thing to happen, everyone just being against you because you like something different.

“Well I don’t hate you” I say.

She smiles. 

“Okay well we have lots of food” she says, twirling around with her hand up.

We head into the kitchen and I meet her girlfriend Maddie. 

“April where’d you put the remote?” Maddie asks.

“Oh, uh, top of the tv I’m pretty sure” April says back.

“So what’s your full name?” I ask.

“April Ann Arlington” she replies smiling, “my parents thought it’d be cute to have all the A’s, yours?”

“Jillian Marie Turner” I reply.

She nods, “that’s a nice name.”

“Thanks, so is yours” I say.

Once I leave April’s house I can’t help but wonder what its gonna be like for her with the whole church kind of turned against her.  I mean there are only like five people that don’t go to that church.  Everyone knows each other.  Word is definitely going to spread fast.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

